Starting.

Food has always been a comfort to me. But the other day it failed.

I was in such a funk the other day. I hit the proverbial wall, where I didn’t feel like doing anything, socializing with anyone or eating anything. Surprise, I know.

I have now made chicken with pasta and marinara sauce upwards of 30 times since I’ve been here. It pretty much accounts for all my meals, aside from the occasional tuna sandwich or canned soup. It’s the most economical diet for a student and it’s a decent enough meal but I have had enough.

Yesterday was the start of a whole new cooking philosophy for me. Yesterday, I made chili. And today I will make curry. And who knows what kind of food tomorrow will bring? It’s funny how empowered I feel when making little decisions like that. It makes all the difference when you’ve been eating the same slop for the past month.

But aside from that, I thought I would give y’all a glimpse into my little life here. I realized the other day that I hadn’t really sent any pictures of my adventures. And what better place to start than one’s own room?

As you can see, it looks like my room is inhabited by John Nash armed with pink post-its. I’ve nested and spend nearly all my time at my desk–eating, writing, reading, grooming, sleeping. You name it, I probably do it at my desk. And looking at it, my desk seems to be a pretty good representation of who I am–a bit messy, but I like to think it’s ordered chaos, with little money, some food and lots of reading.

I’m sorry if this was a bit disjointed. I don’t really know how to start. We can only go up from here, right?

1 Comment

Filed under Travels

One response to “Starting.

  1. Connor

    Was that A Beautiful Mind reference in the middle?? You write about food with a passion that we all love to see. Keep it up.
    Lots of love from America

Leave a Reply

