Lady in Red.

I’ve been pretty busy these last few weeks–unpacking, stocking up on food, applying to jobs, going to interviews, seeing friends again, buying books, going to class–just getting back into the swing of things. With a few exciting and semi-spontaneous adventures along the way, of course.

The night before school started I get a text from Afarin.

“Britney tickets. $50. Interested?”

And let’s just get this straight, I like Britney. Not in a fanatic way, but I appreciate her contribution to the pop music of my childhood and now into my college years. Besides it’s just fun to dance around to. So, in my “Seize the Day” mindset and since I just got my last check from my sister the day before, I figured…Why the hell not?

The concert “started” at 8pm at the Staples Center and we left UCLA at 7pm…

If you know anything about traffic in Los Angeles, you know that our mission was a nearly impossible one. But thanks to a lot of swerving, honking, and cutting people off, Afarin and I finally made it to the Staples Center and met up with the friend of a friend of a friend by the Magic Johnson Statue to pick up our tickets. The show that followed was all I expected it to be. Lots of skimpy outfits and pyrotechnics, mixed with jumbo-screens with Britney plastered all over them, well-rehearsed lip-synching and a pretty decent set list. All in all it was a fun experience and it’s always better when you have $50 dollar tickets but you’re actually sitting in the $200 dollar section. Win.

And then it was Afarin’s Super Sweet 21st modeled after the ridiculous and infamous MTV show. So being the “Creator” of the FB invite I had to show up in style. So after high and low for an appropriately hideous dress I found this little beauty hiding among the racks of stuff at Buffalo Exchange. Feist your eyes on this:

amazing.

amazing.

Which I decided was a little too classy…so i took some scissors to it…

with major anxiety

with major anxiety

And ended up with…

this!

this!

Now I must admit this is not the final product because I ended up getting rid of the right sleeve altogether and left the hem longer and cleaned up the edges but you get the idea. Once I get pictures of mine and Afarin’s homage to MTV’s worst behaved teenagers I will post them. They will be epic. I know it.

And the weekend after I went to my cousin Andy’s wedding in Tejas, as I like to call Texas, and that was a whole ‘nother story in itself. Pictures and blog will follow soon. Pinkie promise.

Oh, and yes, multiple strangers approached me singing Chris De Burgh’s “Lady in Red.” It was definitely a low and highlight for the night.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Lady in Red.

  1. Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. Connor

    Whoever took those pictures really captured the essence of the dress

Leave a Reply

