sing, sing a song.

I recently started a job as a Teacher’s Aide at the UCLA Lab School, formerly known as Seeds Elementary, and it’s been eventful to say the least.

I work with first and second graders and it’s always a mixed bag of kids. There are the ones that consistently make you smile and make your day easier, and then there are the kids who drive you up the wall. But I’ve found that no matter how badly they behave, at the end of the day, when they give you a hug and smile all is forgiven. They are only kids after all learning to make their way through the world with a little discipline from yours truly, of course.

Having said that, I nearly cried at work today. Not because I was angry, frustrated or overwhelmed. It was happy almost tears. I took my class to music for the first time to today and they were practicing for a recital. And to my surprise, music really did calm the savage beast. The “troublemakers” sat criss-cross applesauce, hands in their lap, big smiles and sang at the top of their little lungs. It never ceases to amaze me how music can be so trans-formative and uplifting. They sang “I Got Rhythm” from one of my favorite musicals and “Sing” from Sesame Street and it was just a great happy moment in a long day. Made me remember to be happy. So I thought I’d just share the lyrics and hopefully, it’ll make your day a little brighter too.

Sing,

Sing a song.

Sing out loud

Sing out strong.

Sing of good things, not bad

Sing of happy, not sad.

Sing,

Sing a song.

Make it simple

to last your whole life long.

Don’t worry that it’s not good enough

for anyone else to hear,

sing,

sing a song.

La la la la la la la la la la la la la la la la…..

Love it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

