pottering, punching and brining?

I had a lovely time this past Thursday chowing down on some delicious eats courtesy of my co-worker Julia and taking in the first part of the epic Harry Potter movie finale. Big thanks to Afarin, Jackie and Kanami for being smart enough to buy tickets in a theater with pre-assigned seating.

mental note: i still owe Jackie $13.5o.

If you actually want to get good seats and don’t have the time or patience to sit in line and mingle with your fellow die-hards I highly suggest looking into this neat new phenomena. I guess people have been getting into all out brawls and being arrested. I didn’t know that we had that problem as grown, civilized people but I guess that’s what theater going has come to.

Anyway, I have begun working out again in order to prepare for the holiday festivities. Cause you know, sneakily stealing a top from underneath a giant pile of clothes, or trying on dozens of boots, and eating really fatty meals gets tough. I went to a cardio kick boxing class tonight and got my ass handed to me. I usually fare fairly well at gym classes but my physical ineptitude, lack of mental preparation and poor hand-eye coordination proved disastrous. It’s really hard to step in time, jab, uppercut, twisty jumpy…thing, knee, kick, kick, kick, kick, squat, squat, cross jab, cross jab, in quick succession…ok?

I also am really competitive at heart and i hate to be out of step. Which proved to be a disadvantage today. The fact that I wanted to keep up and the fact that I can’t keep a beat to save my life was making it all the more frustrating. Oh well, I feel healthier and happier now–I can feel those endorphins coursing through my body right this second–and if you want to see me make a spectacle of myself feel free to come to the gym with me. It’s a riot.

Tonight, also signifies the beginning of my new Thanksgiving preparations. If you couldn’t tell from previous posts, I love the IDEA of the holidays. I want a giant turkey with all the trimmings, all my loved ones gathered around the table, little ones running around, my house bedecked with holiday decorations and the smell of fall wafting in and out of my house–cinnamon, spice and everything nice. But alas, I am asian. In my twenty two years we have yet to achieve this seemingly reachable goal for most families. But this year will be different.

This year we have bought a turkey. Oh yes, you read that right. My mother and I went to the grocery store and got our turkey. It’s not big or fancy but it is a TURKEY! and we got potatoes and a pie crust and other stuff…but guys…this is a HUGE step in the right direction. I just unwrapped it and did inappropriate things to that turkey downstairs to prepare it for brining–a fancy term for “soaking in flavored water” that I picked up from the food network–and I couldn’t be more excited.

not gonna lie, i kind of really love these target commercials.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

