pack…rats.

Now I don’t consider myself to be a pack rat. I clean out my closet at least once a year if not more often. I do not buy random knick knacks. I do not collect ceramic chickens. I do not hang onto old food for sentimental reasons. I do not eat green eggs and ham.

But I do have a packing problem. In two days I have to have all my boxes packed and ready to be shipped. I get a maximum of six 17″ x 13″ x 13″ boxes to fit my life’s belongings into.

So aside from bringing clothing and shoes I am also trying to bring household items to save myself the hassle and cost of re-buying things I already have here (i.e. toaster oven, comforter, dvd player). Luckily, my mother has already rolled my comforter into the size of a babies’ sleeping bag. But I still have a hair dryer, curling iron, boots, a Brita, plates, pots, pans and any number of quasi-essentials. So how am I doing? A little nervous.

Oh, and did I mention my goal is to bring only four boxes? Oh, yes. I am ambitious. I figure this two box excess will allow me some wiggle room to lug things back from NYC. Because purchases will be made…but hopefully the winter/spring trend will be that everything is super useful, multi-purpose, collapsible and can become microscopic with the press of a button. Oi.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

