Gearing up.

Ok guys and dolls, here’s the thing.

I am feeling inspired by how uninspired I’ve been.

“What, pray tell, do you mean by that Duyen?”

Well, I mean that upon reflecting and realizing what I do and what I would like to change, I’ve decided to make a new start of things. Now don’t get me wrong, I am aware that this coincides with all the other reformative, goal setting revelations that come during this time of year BUT because I’m self-aware and stubborn I’m not going to let this fall by the wayside come busier times. (fingers crossed)

I also read a helpful article–that I can’t seem to find for the life of me–about goal setting. Here’s the gist:

Step 1: Pick an objective, a goal, a change you’d like to make. It doesn’t have to be life-altering.

Step 2: Define what obstacles prevent you from achieving said objective.

Step 3: Think through how you can work around those deterrents to your goal and write down some proactive steps.

Step 4: Set “check in” dates for yourself. It’s like setting a due date for smaller steps, put them in your calendar, planner, or whatnot; then if by that date you have or have not reached your expected trajectory, re-evaluate and keep moving forward.

For example, here is one of my goals…

1.  Write more, particular in this blog.

2. I don’t do this because…I’m lazy, it’s been a long day, I feel like I don’t have anything interesting to write about, it feels too much like work, I haven’t written in a long time (I know this mentality is only adding to the vicious cycle)

3. To overcome aforementioned difficulties…

-Make writing regular. I’m going to start out with a goal for once a week.

-Incorporate anything and everything.

-Start telling people that it’s up and running again. It makes me more motivated to write if I know that at least it’s not just me reading.

-Make it fun. Maybe, if there’s more traffic, we can start having an interactive blog…or maybe I’ll start a series or pick a theme. Who knows!?

4. Well, since I’ve proclaimed a once a week goal…it’ll be fairly easy to check in a month if I have four blog posts. But I also have a personal goal for site traffic. I’d like to beat my busiest day in the next three months. I think those are pretty good check in points to start.

Other goals of mine include:

Breaking in a pair of running shoes.

Cooking more meals.

Taking a class–I’m thinking of either writing, improv, art or cooking.

Being a better friend and keeping in touch.

All of which, should hopefully be mentioned in future blog posts. Stick around, it’ll get good. Promise.

Anyhoo, what have you been meaning to do and putting off? I’d love to hear if you’ve found your own way of finding small successes.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Gearing up.

  1. Pingback: Thanks guys! | life in the margins.

Leave a Reply

