Grocery shopping in NYC

A little over a year ago I wrote an email home about my brand-new New York City experiences which included grocery shopping.

“This week we went to Trader Joe’s to pick up some groceries and it was like shopping for the apocalypse. It’s a two story Trader Joe’s and it was shoulder to shoulder. And about 70% of the shelves were empty. Apparently this is very common if you try to go grocery shopping after work. It was a madhouse.”

I went grocery shopping today at around 2pm on a Saturday and the Whole Foods was overrun.

Whole Foods isn’t even reasonably priced but it was still packed. I don’t think this is something I’m ever going to get used to. Grocery shopping here is like a sport. That requires a teammate and a game plan and strategy.

New York City may have the best of a lot of things but suburbia totally kicks this city’s butt when it comes to ease and convenience for grocery shopping. San Francisco has fog, Los Angeles has traffic, New York has grocery store pandaemonium.

Now you might be thinking, this picture is clearly staged because why doesn’t she have a shopping cart? Well, I had TWO giant re-usable grocery bags that were already full. And to give you an idea, one of those bags was an IKEA bag. IKEA sells furniture...

And the reason my bags are full is because this craziness makes me never want to go grocery shopping ever again. As I wander the aisles with bags weighing me down, sweating up a storm, I wrack my mind for ways to never come back. “Maybe I’ll just suffice on pasta and sauce or maybe I’ll just eat out all the time, or maybe I just won’t eat that often, or ever, or maybe I  should just buy everything I could possibly carry to last me as long as I can before I eventually have to come back…” I always land back at this idea of stocking up and thus the hoarding and overflowing bags.

BUT, I do have to admit that it’s nice to get home and cook something delicious.

On the menu for tonight is Spanish Beef Stew.

It better be the best effing stew after all the trouble I’ve been through.

What are you up to this weekend?
I’m looking forward to watching some trash television–I just got cable!

(It turned out magnificent in case you were wondering.)


The recipe is from The Good Housekeeping Kitchen…


Click through for the Recipe!–>

Ingredients:
1 3/4 lb of Beef (preferably Flank Steak)
1 Medium Onion, Coarsely chopped
1 Medium Carrot, Peeled & Chopped
1 Bay Leaf
2 Teaspoons of Salt
5 Cups of Water
4 Teaspoons Olive Oil
1 Red Pepper, 1 Yellow Pepper, 1 Green Pepper, Cut into 1/2 Inch Wide Strips
3 Garlic Cloves, Crushed
3 Serrano OR Chili Peppers, Seeded and Minced
1/4 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
1 Can Stewed Tomatoes

1. Cut flank steak into thirds. Place in 5 Quart Dutch Oven. Add onion, carrot, bay leaf, 1 teaspoon salt and water; heat to boiling over high heat. Reduce to low heat, cover and simmer until meat is very tender–about 2 1/2 to 3 hours.

2. In 12-inch skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat until hot. Add sliced onion, red, yellow and green peppers; and remaining 1 teaspoon salt; cook stirring often until vegetables are tender–about 15 minutes. Stir in garlic, serranos and cinnamon and cook for 30 seconds. Stir in stewed tomatoes (with juices!) and cook for 5 minutes.

3. With slotted spoon, transfer beef to large bowl. Strain broth. Reserve 2 cups broth. (You can refrigerate or freeze the leftover broth for another use.)

4. Stir reserved broth and shredded meat into pepper mixture and simmer, uncovered, 10 minutes, stirring occasionally. Done!

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes!

2 responses to “Grocery shopping in NYC

  1. Ha, some of us miss the spice of Manhattan grocery store/farmer’s market madness. When we visit NYC it is imperative to visit a packed Whole Foods or a frenetic Eataly. Enjoy the delicious-looking stew, then go shop again!

  2. doogen

    The stew turned out great! But we’re out of food and another trip to the market is on the horizon. Wish us luck!

Leave a Reply

