Sushi Chef.

Every time someone starts talking about winning the lottery and what they would do I always have two answers that come after buying my parents their house, paying off my loans, smart investments, etc. The second is to have a hair stylist do my hair whenever I want. The first is to have an on-call sushi chef. Legit, right?

Well, now I can check one of those off my list!

Brett surprised me and got together all the supplies for some at-home sushi making.

And it’s much easier and cheaper than you would think to make some of this delicious stuff yourself.

First, you’re going to want to make your sushi rice because you have to let it cool before making the rolls. I  just followed the recipe on the sushi rice bag but here’s a good recipe to use if you’d like. While it cools you can cut up all your other ingredients. Multi-tasking at its finest!

If you’re impatient, and hungry, you can use a fan to help cool down your rice…

Like so.

And now you can start adding your favorite fish, vegetables, and other accoutrements to your rolls.

Make sure if you get raw fish you want to make sure it’s sushi/sashimi grade–salmonella is not something you want to mess with. I got mine from Chelsea Market’s fish market. You can tell them how many rolls you want to make or how many people you plan on feeding and they can recommend how much you should get.

Salmon. Tuna. Cucumber. Avocado. Eel. Crab Stick.

Now that you have your cooled sushi rice, fish, and vegetables, you can start rolling!

I covered my bamboo mat with plastic wrap so that my rolls wouldn’t stick to it and get it dirty. You’ll want to lay down a sheet of seaweed and make a small ball of rice with your hands and put that on top.

You can eat the excess rice off your hands if you so please.

Construct your favorite combination and then roll away! I found that putting a dab of water on the very edge of the seaweed paper helps the roll stay together.

Now just run your knife under some warm water (to keep it from sticking/tearing your roll) and cut into bite-size pieces. It should end up looking something like this…

A. Masterpiece.

Now all there’s left to do is enjoy! And figure out my new number one frivolous service in case I win the lottery one day.

But for now, I’m just excited I can have sushi all day. Every day.

4 Comments

Filed under Recipes!

4 responses to “Sushi Chef.

  1. erin

    A) I love your hair. B) this made me really hungry… C) good lord that is a lot of sushi. I hope you and Brett ate it all by yourselves.

    • Thanks lady! Loving your bright red lipstick. Miss you and your family. And Brett and I did eat all of this sushi–mercury poisoning here we come!

  2. Monica

    The sushi look absolutely awesome!!!! The eel would be my favorite.

Leave a Reply

